Members

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:24 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: My story.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:02 am 

Hello. I am 60 years of age and live near Seattle. I took up the harmonica in August of 2009 at my wife's urging. I was diagnosed with a pretty significant lung condition having lost almost 70% of my lung function. Playing the harmonica was supposed to help according to a news documentary she watched. At the time, I could not walk a flight of stairs without gasping for air. It was a pretty scary time for sure.

I am a lifelong hobbyist musician having studied clarinet and sax through my school years and then turned to vocal music as an adult, singing in church choirs and in a barbershop chorus and a eventually a quartet. At 50 years of age, I embarked on a life's goal of learning the piano. Ten years later, practicing several hours a day, it is starting to come together. My current instrument of choice is piano. It is my passion, my therapy, my creative outlet. I play a couple of gigs a month and have a great time.

The harmonica? Well, it couldn’t hurt and might be fun. So I joined the Harmonica Academy and started working through the lessons. It took me almost two months to get single notes and then another month to get to the end of Shenandoah without gasping for air. This wasn’t fun….it was a lot of work and effort. But the weeks and months passed and I kept working on it. It seemed to be getting a bit easier each week. Finally, on my six month anniversary with the Harmonica Academy, I recorded my first tune, Scotland the Brave. It is posted on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5goEX1M6CE