Members

It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:52 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: metal or wood reeds ?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:01 pm 

as a complete novice i bought a cheap harmonica for about £6, made in china, but i want to buy something decent that will last, diatonic in C.

i read about these harmonica's with wood or metal reeds. what i would like to know is which would be the best harmonica for me to buy that's not made in china, diatonic in C, and metal reeds

cheers

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:26 pm 

sorry i should have said plastic reed ? i have seen a hohner big river and hohner special 20 for sale which would you recommend or if you could suggest another make ?

thanks

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:19 pm 

You're getting a little confused.

It's not the reeds, but the comb that comes in different materials.

The comb is the bit that is sandwiched between the two reedplates and coverplates. On harps like the Hohner marine band and Blues harp it is made of wood. On others, like the special 20 and Lee Oskar it is plastic. A few harmonicas, like the Hohner Meisterklasse and the Suzuki Proharp have metal combs.

The reeds are always metal, usually brass or phosphor bronze. Recently (last few years) Seydel have made harps with stainless steel reeds.

As for comb material, it really is personal preference and relates to how you play. I know what I like, but that might not be right for you. The only advice I can give is to try a few options to find the model of harp you like. Anything over £25 by one of the major names (Seydel, Hohner, Lee Oskar, Suzuki, Bushman, Hering, Bends). The Hohner models you mention are both OK - I would suggest the Special 20 is slightly better in quality than the Big River, but that's just my opinion.

Beware of the cheaper Hohners - especially sets of harps - these are actually mass produced in China and have very little in common with the more expensive Hohner models. poorly tuned, very leaky.