New Reply | Expand | Topics | Main Forum 
Author Post
djb21au

Dec-2004
2 Posts.
 New member from down under
Dec-13-04 3:48am  

Hi all,

I just joined. I live in Melbourne, Australia and only picked up a harp for the first time a week and a bit ago. Stumbled on a free workshop and was hooked.

I am a nearly 40-year-old frustrated musician from way back, having flirted with the piano, trumpet and guitar but never finding/making the time to continue with any of them. I'm hoping that the harp being so portable, this might be the one.

Progress has been pretty good so far - the kids can recognise what I'm playing, which is a good sign! Biggest challenge so far is capacity when drawing - I guess that will come with practice. Look forward to learning more from this site - and from its members.

----------------------------------------
David

reply to this post quote edit  
Markp

Nov-2004
39 Posts.
 Re: New member from down under
Dec-13-04 9:13am  [ re: djb21au ]

Hi David,

Mark from the UK here, good to have you aboard.

Breath control and just straight breathing is probabley the biggest problem when you first start out. I think one reason for this is that you put so much effort into hitting the right notes that you actually forget that you have to breath as well. Leaves you a bit blue in the face!

But hang in there. As you get more comfortable with your harp and the tunes, the breathing will come naturally.

Just enjoy making a noise with your harp, don't let the kids put you off when they fall on the floor laughing cause you hit a bum note. Play for your own enjoyment first and before you know it they will all be listening with their mouths open.

Oh one other thing you need to keep in mind. It is harder playing harp in Oz cause your upside down!

Keep harpin

Cheers

Mark

bear
Gladiator

Sept-2004
879 Posts.
Dec-13-04 4:34pm  [ re: djb21au ]

Hello and Welcome to the club David. From the bear.